• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Borrowing a firearm for a day

rkwjunior

NES Member
Newbie here, hence the question I have an LTC-A and my father has an LTC-A (might not matter??). Can i take one of his guns to the range without him, or does the gun have to be registered to me???

thanx

The only guns that must remain with their registered owners are those registered with the ATF. They get testy if you lend/borrow machineguns.

between residents of the same state there are no restrictions outside of the machine gun type stuff, so long as you are properly licensed you can borrow and CCW with it, where as if you lent a gun across a state line there is a federal law restricting it to "sporting purposes only"

I believe there is a time limit on these "loans".

how could the authorities ever keep track of that?? one of my friends has his entire collection of guns spread out amongst 5 or 6 different people, lol. shotguns at this guys house, 2 handguns at another's house, 1 guy carrying this gun, another guy carrying that gun. i even carried his Para Warthog for about 4 months because i was considering buying it, so it was like a "test carry". put it this way, he owns about 20 guns....the only ones he has at his house at the moment are a S&W revolver, a S&W bodyguard .380, a pre-ban AR, and a 870 pistol grip shotty. the other 16 are currently being loaned or borrowed.

in addition to this, i had an encounter with local authorities about 5 years ago while i was in possession of 5 of his handguns (which i was borrowing to take my girl shooting). the 5-0 ran every serial number of every gun which all came up registered to him (not me). i had told him initially that the guns were my friend's, gave his name, and the cop just let me go on my merry way. not one gun was registered to me, it was all good.