Blue vs. Stainless

Newbie here...

I was wondering what the pros and cons are of a stainless finish gun vs. a blue finish gun? I imagine that in some way stainless is better, since models that differ only in stainless vs. blue seem to have stainless be more expesive.

Where I work, some of the older guys loved the stainless because to clean it "you just gotta put it in the dishwasher". No lie...

Stainless doesn't wear like a blued finish, they look nice because they're shiny, stainless won't rust.

The blued finish is really delicate compared to stainless. Repeated holstering for example, will quickly create wear marks on the finish. And once the wear marks are there, all you can do is tolerate it - unless you want to try a cold blue "touch up", which usually looks like crap, or have the entire gun re-blued, which is relatively expensive. Either way, you detract from the "collector value" of the gun by not leaving it in its original condition.

Stainless, on the other hand, can take a beating and still look great with a little buffing and polishing. Because it's tougher, you can use products like lead-removal cloth (also great for carbon build-up) on stainless, that would ruin a blued gun.

Of course, this is all considering the matter from a cold, purely unemotional point of view. There's just something beautiful about the blued gun that makes it more desirable than the same gun in stainless.
Maybe it's the historical appreciation for the older, blue gun. Do you choose the brand new Cobra Mustang, or the Shelby Cobra of the 60's?

Fortunately, like everything else - variety is the spice of life. Be sure to own a number of examples of each, and stay happy!

stainless won't rust.
Actually, it is called "stain-less", not "stain-proof." That is, stainless can rust. You have to really neglect it for that to happen, but it can. That extra rust resistance is the big advantage over a blued gun.