• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR-15 in a 7.62x39???

Hi All,

I'm new to the AR-15 platform & I'm thinking of purchasing a kit for 7.62x39 to go with my stripped lower.

I'm thinking about this caliber because I've got an SKS and I don't want to add another caliber. I've also got a Mosin 91/30 & a 22LR rifle.

Are the mags readily available? Are they more expensive?

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

David

Don't do it. No, pre-ban magazines in 7.62x39 are not readily available. Nor are they very reliable. The long, straight well in the AR15 doesn't allow the tight curvature required for a reliable 7.62x39 magazine.

Stick with 5.56. You'll be far happier.

You're better off going with 5.45 x 39, as I believe an AR mag will work with mods, and the ammo is a hell of a lot cheaper. (5.45 x 39 is pretty much the cheapest centerfire rifle ammo money can buy right now.... )

-Mike

You're better off going with 5.45 x 39, as I believe an AR mag will work with mods, and the ammo is a hell of a lot cheaper. (5.45 x 39 is pretty much the cheapest centerfire rifle ammo money can buy right now.... )

-Mike

I actually stocked up on some cheap 5.45x39 ammo back when the prices were going thru the roof in hopes of building an AR in 5.45. The problem is - I could never find any decent uppers in that caliber.

Anybody know where to find 5.45x39 AR uppers of decent quality? It doesnt seem to be a very common variant. The 7.62x39 AR uppers are much more popular.

I actually stocked up on some cheap 5.45x39 ammo back when the prices were going thru the roof in hopes of building an AR in 5.45. The problem is - I could never find any decent uppers in that caliber.

Anybody know where to find 5.45x39 AR uppers of decent quality? It doesnt seem to be a very common variant. The 7.62x39 AR uppers are much more popular.