• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Ammunition storage

HFMR

NES Member
I think I know the answer…but ammo has to be stored in locked containers, either in a home or when transporting it yes?

What are the consequences of being found with improperly stored ammunition?

I thought I saw here it is a violation of Fire code if not locked up but not actually against the law?
Does that mean it wouldn’t affect your LTC? I am still rather new to all of this and just want to make sure I am compliant with every aspect of the law…

I think I know the answer…but ammo has to be stored in locked containers, either in a home or when transporting it yes?

I thought I saw here it is a violation of Fire code if not locked up but not actually against the law?
Does that mean it wouldn’t affect your LTC? I am still rather new to all of this and just want to make sure I am compliant with every aspect of the law…
There is no law that requires ammunition to be locked up, either when being transported or stored. There is apparently a fire code regulation that requires it to be locked up. Any penalty for violating the fire code would be a civil penalty not a criminal penalty.

Last edited:
There's also a Fire Law on quantity per dwelling per type. Shotshell, Center Fire & Rim Fire. There's also a Fire Law on quanity of Powder. If you want to exceed the quantities you have to get a permit from your local Fire Department. I've forgotten the particulars but it something like 10,000 Rim, 10,000 Center and 5,000 Shotshell. I think there's a link on the GOAL website.