Why are people anti 40 ?

Hi everyone, I am very new to firearms and my first gun is a Glock 23. Now that i have been on this forum it seems like a lot of people are anti 40. My question is why.

Thanks everyone.

Gdbrz [grin]

I shoot a G23 as well. I shoot it just as well as .22 and or .45

I don't have a preference. .. I just happened to find one cheap. I have a 9mm bbl for it too when I have my period.

I think because it's a smaller round than .45 and has a bit more felt recoil. Of course YMMV, I know in my case my 1911 is less snappy than my brothers Glock 22.

The idea behind the .40 was ok. Combine the best of 9mm and .45 ACP into a single round. Unfortunately, it's been found to not really do that. IMO, better off with either 9mm or .45 ACP. Of course, my preference is .45 ACP. In a high capacity pistol, your round count is the same (especially in nanny states) so why not go with a larger round that has a softer recoil? The misconception that .45 ACP recoil is harder to control than 9mm is just that, a misconception. 9mm recoil is also sharper than .45 ACP.

BTW, .45 ACP because shooting twice is just silly... Plus 'MERICA!!! [rofl2]

It's because it was invented to pussify the 10mm. Candy asses couldn't handle the 10mm so they invented the .40.

Is it reasonable to expect police forces to deploy a much more powerful caliber than the 40? Gun enthusiasts have been trying to get police to use powerful rounds since the old revolver magnums came out, with not much success.

It's because it was invented to pussify the 10mm. Candy asses couldn't handle the 10mm so they invented the .40.
Yes, very true indeed. But I like it, a zippy cartridge but I tend to go .45acp now. A .40 will put em down though.

Is it reasonable to expect police forces to deploy a much more powerful caliber than the 40? Gun enthusiasts have been trying to get police to use powerful rounds since the old revolver magnums came out, with not much success.