What is this soldier carrying?

... still looks like an M-4 carbine, with some tacticool...

that's a flashlight under the barrel, I believe....

and it looks like a flared magwell on the lower...

... that lower barrel actually fires those optical bullets... [grin] and they're fully automatic, too!

The sight system looks like the one I just saw on guns&gear that allows the user to sight with both eyes open. It has some fiber optic thingy too. I'm not very technically savvy.[thinking] You can also use the iron sites with this setup so it's good for CQB and tracking a moving target too. The both eyes open allows for quicker acquisition and better tracking. Wish I hadn't erased that episode, I could of told you who makes the sight system and given you all the technical jargon too.

Possibly the Navy's Mk18 CQBR;

If it's the Mk18, then a 10.5in barrel. If not, could be a 10.3 inch.
AR15/M4 with: (starting at the muzzle)

- Flash hider capable of attaching a supressor
- Surefire Scout weaponlight with rail mount
- Handguards are the Vltor CASV-EL Carbine - FLAT DARK EARTH
- Vertical ForeGrip, such as Tango Down in Tan or FDE
- EO Tech "AA Battery model", like the 512, 552, etc.
- Possibly LaRue riser mount for EO Tech.
- MAKO Magwell Grip - FDE
- ARMS (crap [frown]) BUIS?
- Magpul M93B Stock in FDE

Possibly the Navy's Mk18 CQBR;

If it's the Mk18, then a 10.5in barrel. If not, could be a 10.3 inch.
AR15/M4 with: (starting at the muzzle)

- Flash hider capable of attaching a supressor
- Surefire Scout weaponlight with rail mount
- Handguards are the Vltor CASV-EL Carbine - FLAT DARK EARTH
- Vertical ForeGrip, such as Tango Down in Tan or FDE
- EO Tech "AA Battery model", like the 512, 552, etc.
- Possibly LaRue riser mount for EO Tech.
- MAKO Magwell Grip - FDE
- ARMS (crap [frown]) BUIS?
- Magpul M93B Stock in FDE

Its a MK18 upper, there is no 10.3in, its a regular birdcage flashhider, no special suppressor mount.