What constitutes a good trainer?

TY43215

NES Member
The greatest problem I see with many people claiming to be trainers and experts is lack of credibility. They take courses, read all that is written, and feed it back to neophyte students. They have no real life experience that they can show you to prove that what they teach or what they write works.

With this in mind, I found I am very critical of people claiming to be experts and/or trainers in this day and age.

With more and more people claiming to be "Tactical Trainers", I need to ask this question. As the student paying anywhere from $200 to $4,000 for a course, what credentials do you expect your trainer to have?

Here are some of mine:

1. Credibility: In order to have credibility as a trainer I feel experience in the real world is a very important factor. Having worked in the field to gain real life experience is a way to earn the respect necessary to give me faith in the ability of the trainer. Just because someone has taken courses, read books, written books, or watched videos, does not give them the experience I feel they need to prove that what they teach works. I have no faith in someone that has no real world experience.
2. Ability to perform all of what you teach. If you can do it, you can show me how to do it. I learn better from viewing than I do from reading. If I am paying you to teach me something, I expect you to know more than I do and wait for you to impart that knowledge. You are supposed to be the expert.
3. Can you get the point across? When you are trying to teach, are you confident enough in your ability that you can convey that experience to others? Are you confident enough in your ability that you can explain reasons why you teach this way? OR do you just say, "This is the best way so do it?" You have to show me why it is better than the other guy's technique and not just something different.