Water storage question

Cluster F

USMC Veteran
NES Member
I know I can get a quicker answer here rather than searching or YouTube. So what is the best way to store water. I have a few 5 gallon water storage containers I want to fill. I want to know the best way to go about it.

I'm far from an expert but I remember reading somewhere to sanitize containers and add a few drops of chlorine bleach for long term storage

i buy distilled water at $1 a gallon. keeps for 2 years MINIMUM. it's just too cheap to DIY. I use distilled water in my humidifier through the winter so my stock rotates regularly. I probably use like 20 gallons a winter which, spending $20 is a cheap alternative to having to clean the humidifier on a regular basis.

but yes, otherwise there are bleach methods. i would taste test whatever method you use though.

I'm far from an expert but I remember reading somewhere to sanitize containers and add a few drops of chlorine bleach for long term storage

This- sanitize the containers then add 5-6 drops per gallon when you add water, shake it up, cap it tightly and store it. Put the date on it so you know how old it is.

I've got a few million gallons of stored water that I've cleverly disguised as lakes and ponds. [wink]

Seriously though, if you have access to a water heater tank you've already got between 30-80 gallons of water stored.

This was my approach until the water supply in SC(?) got tainted last year. Once you run your hot water even a little you contaminate your tank and now have 0 gallons of clean water stored. Obviously if you know about the contamination before running the water you can shut off the supply and it's fine.

This was my approach until the water supply in SC(?) got tainted last year. Once you run your hot water even a little you contaminate your tank and now have 0 gallons of clean water stored. Obviously if you know about the contamination before running the water you can shut off the supply and it's fine.