• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Today I made my Mosin go BOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!

Please excuse my childlike excitement but this gun was so much fun to shoot. I went to the range today during an extended lunch break [wink] and took my newly acquired Mosin Nagant 91/30 along with me. I have never shot a Mosin before in fact I have little to no experience shooting rifles except my old Army M16 ten million years ago. What a blast this gun was! I must admit I was somewhat nervous about it though. I picked up my gun Saturday (NES Group Buy). Sunday I cleaned, oiled, and adjusted the firing pin per everything I have read and seen (youtube) regarding that, and put it all back together. Today, Monday, I took it to the range. The disassembly and reassembly of the gun was so simple I thought for sure I must have missed something, thought I would get to the range, pull the trigger and it would blow up in my face![shocked] Fortunately that did not happen and it shot great, accurate as well. I even made a video of me shooting it but embarrassingly in the middle of the video I realized I really didnt know how to properly load the rounds. [thinking] Eventually I figured it out and had a fun time at the range!

Welcome to the addiction! Now dump some Windex down that barrel and clean all of that corrosive crap out of it so it's ready to go next time.

I'm always a little nervous when i fire the first round on a new fire arm. if its old i actually turn my face away and let first round go. better to be safe than sorry.

Congrats! I took mine out yesterday for the third time, and it's such a blast. 40 more rounds down and no mosin shoulder, lol.

I'm disappointed. I clicked on this thread expecting to see a Mosin with an elmer fudd type barrel thing going on. [laugh]

-Mike