Storage Requirements?

Are there any laws or regulations in NH on storing rifles or handguns? Even if there are no requirements, I assume that there is always the danger of a civil suit, correct?

My context is hiking and camping. Open carry (or concealed with no ammunition on person) seems legal even without a concealed carry permit, but what happens over night?

Are there any laws or regulations in NH on storing rifles or handguns? Even if there are no requirements, I assume that there is always the danger of a civil suit, correct?

My context is hiking and camping. Open carry (or concealed with no ammunition on person) seems legal even without a concealed carry permit, but what happens over night?

I think that could get tricky without a NH pistol permit. I'm assuming you'll be in a tent, or a sleeping bag, which would probably conceal the gun. I'm willing to bet a tent could be considered a dwelling of sorts, but...I'm no lawyer, but maybe all those years in Mass. have warped my psyche...

It takes a while to learn to relax after moving here. [laugh]

Notice I said "those," not "these," past tense. [wink] My escape was worth every penny saved to enable it.

Does NH law only prohibit concealing a pistol when it's being carried on the person or in a vehicle without a permit? Or maybe a better question would be, does NH law allow one to conceal a pistol near the body but not on it (outside of a vehicle) without a permit?

When the NH non-res. permit was $20 I'd call the OP crazy for not getting one to avoid any possible "gray area," but sadly that's not the case anymore.

Notice I said "those," not "these," past tense. [wink] My escape was worth every penny saved to enable it.

Does NH law only prohibit concealing a pistol when it's being carried on the person or in a vehicle without a permit? Or maybe a better question would be, does NH law allow one to conceal a pistol near the body but not on it (outside of a vehicle) without a permit?