Sig 220 Vs. SW 1911 PD

I just picked up my SW1911PD on friday from FS. I was talking to my buddy (bloodhound) and we got into a debate on which gun he should buy next the Sig 220 or the SW1911.

I have never shot the Sig 220 so i could not give any input on it. I know that all Sigs are great guns and i hear its one of the most accurate .45's out of the box.

I should also add that the Sig would not be a main carry piece. More of a gun just to own and shoot down at the range.

Just wondering if anyone has ANY input on either of these pistols.

Thanks,

Richie

Last edited:
My favorite piece is my Sig P220 TT. Easily the most accurate pistol I own. If I take a trip to the sand box, I'm finding a way to take it with me. That's the best endorsement I can give.

I'm just an amateur, though. I'm sure a pro will be along shortly to tell you I'm full of crap.

They're both excellent guns but IMO comparing the two head on is
kinda strange, given that they involve totally separate modes of
operation.

Not to mention they're not even in the same weight class.

A full blown 1911 is about 38+ ounces, unless he gets a scandium job.

A P220 (standard) is like prolly low 30s. Almost a half pound difference.

I guess another consideration would be wether or not he's going to use
it as a defense weapon. If he's not well versed in running an SA gun, the
P220 is probably the better choice for that.

If he's only going to use it as a range toy or for gun gaming... there's no
comparison... the 1911 is better for that hands down, given that the trigger
can be easily massaged by a competent smith down into the 3 lb area. 1911 mags
are also generally cheaper, even for good quality ones.

I own both a 1911 ('97 Kimber CCT) and a P220 alloy w/german. Both have earned a spot in
my safe.

-Mike

Last edited:
Sigs are great firearms and I own a few and like them.