• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Shooters with Glasses

I'm pretty new to shooting, i just got my LTC this year. If you wear glasses, how do you shoot? Contact lenses? Rx Shooting glasses? I know some ranges allow you to shoot with your regular glasses if they are shatterproof or something like that.

I use a pair of Ruby glasses, think Oakly, and they have a Rx insert frame that I use. This works fine, but honestly just go contacts with shooting glasses or go all out and get Rx shooting glasses.

I liked the insert frame for awhile now it's getting old. When I go back to the doc's ill be getting the removable lens set up with my Rx.

Sent from my T-Mobile HTC One S via tapatalk

Here is an honest question or two to go along with this- 1. Are there any ranges out there actually checking whether or not your prescription glasses are shatter resistant? 2. Has anyone ever had their non shatter resistant glasses busted by flying brass?

I ask not to troll but because the more I shoot the more I'm thinking I should go get my eyes checked out.

Lasik...one of the most life changing things I've ever done...

I had 20/400 in each eye and it's now 20/20ish...the first thing I did after I had it done? Bought a pair of nice, non-prescription sunglasses.

Last edited:
All U.S. made lenses are strong enough to protect your eyes from stuff flying back at you (I don't know the correct terminology) so they are fine to wear instead of safety glasses.

You either wear safety glasses or your normal glasses when it comes to eye protection. Both are OK

I wear my glasses with safety goggles over them. This makes it easy to switch from shooting with my Rx glasses, to shooting without them. You should train shooting without your Rx glasses as well. You can't guarantee that in a self defense situation you'd have your glasses or contact lenses on.