• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Revolver help

JoeA

NES Member
Thoughts on a Charter Arms Mag Pug in .357 Magnum, as I’m not familiar with them. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_9882.jpeg
    IMG_9882.jpeg
    879.1 KB · Views: 19
I'm a Smith and Wesson man, I have no personal experience except mixed reputation with Charter. I would rather have a used Smith (or Ruger GP100) than a Charter but good luck.
You're probably right, thank you for the information

Not at all familiar with Charter Arms, and don't know your price tolerance, but I do have a variety of Smith & Wesson and Colt revolvers that I'm familiar with. And while they're all nice guns, my favorite is my Kimber K6s:

full

Frank

I had a few tauruses before. They literally fell apart after shooting a box of 357.

I haven’t owned a charter arms but I’d be curious what the extra cost is for a Ruger or sw.

Charter's have a rep for poor quality, but I took a chance on one and have been pleased with it. I'd go for it *if* the price is right.

Over the years Charter has been inconsistent in quality. The founder was good from the 60's until the 80's then quality declined and they went bankrupt in 1996.

New company bought the rights and started up ~2000, didn't have the best reputation.

Passed thru a couple of hands since, MKS Supply was one.

Frame strength isn't an issue with them, they had timing issues over long periods

Is the .357 magnum chambering important to you?