Photos with crappy technique

jar

Does it bother anyone else when they see photos with crappy shooting technique in them? I'm talking about 'teacup' grips, leaning way back, that sort of thing. I don't generally comment, because I don't want it taken the wrong way, but it grates sometimes.

I hate seeing photos of people pointing firearms at the camera. ( unless you use a timer and there is no one taking the pic)

In a word - no. I have been a photographer, (hobby to professional), for many years. For kicks and some fresh ideas, I took a photography class at Berkshire Community College. It was a bit boring, but it was great to be around other people who were into photography. Now, everyone seems to have an SLR hanging around their neck - back then, photographers - serious photographers, were seen as a bit of an oddity...Nerds with lenses. One day after a photo assignment, a younger woman was asked to display her photograph. To everyone, it seemed to be a nice print of a mountain landscape, nicely exposed - nicely developed. The instructor began nitpicking everything from her exposure - to her depth of field. Fine I suppose - it's how we learn. What drew the line for me, was when he began trashing her perspective and technique. That to me is what tells the story of the photographer. That's personal - not technical. I walked out of the class and never went back...

I guess in the end, what matters most to me is that someone is trying to express themselves through their art. It's not up to me to judge anything beyond that. Sure, I've seen, (and taken), photos that could have been done better - I just look beyond what is supposed to be and look at what is....