Permit refusal/denial question

Sorry for the long post, I can't really ask the question without a little background info.

A while back when I was younger, misinformed and eager to start carrying I applied for a NH non-resident carry permit; I was a MA resident at the time. I didn't have the MA LTC Class A at the time because I was under 21, just had an FID. I thought that would suffice. Unsurprisingly I did not receive the permit. However I'm not quite sure if I was denied the permit. I dug up the paperwork and nowhere does it mention the words "refusal" or "denied". It says that the form is being returned to me, highlights the reason why (lack of a resident carry permit) and says to resubmit the application when I have the required materials.

I then applied for a NH resident, I thought my family's property in NH would suffice as a residence (very stupid and ill informed information I know). Again I was not issued the permit. A letter was included with the returned form that said it was "being returned" because I was under 21, nowhere are the words "denied" or "refused" used.

I'm currently a NH resident and possess the resident carry permit.

I know it was really stupid to apply for those permits when I was younger and I regret it no doubt. But my question is whether or not I was "denied/refused" the permit's or whether the paperwork was simply returned, because it seems to me that there is a distinguishable difference (at least in definition) between the two. I ask because I am going to be applying for my MA non-resident LTC soon and want to have everything in order. As many of you probably already know it states verbatim on the form:

10. Have any license to carry firearms, permit to possess firearms, or firearms identification card issued under the laws of any state or territory ever been suspended, revoked or denied?​