• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Ok, I'm going to start hunting. Bow or semi-auto shotgun?

I'm working my way through the basic ed class at the moment, and I'm pondering what I should get to hunt with. None of my current guns were purchased with hunting in mind, so I don't think any of them quite fit the bill. Should I get a semi-auto shotgun I can use to hunt birds and deer, or should I get a bow so I can hunt the longer deer season? I like the idea of bow hunting, but it'd take a lot more practice, as I haven't really touched a bow since I was a boy, whereas I have plenty of range experience with a semi-auto shotgun.

I'll probably end up with both, in the end, but I'm having a hard time deciding which to get first.

Any suggestions on what to get with either choice? I was looking at the PSE Stinger for a bow, and the Beretta 3901 w/synthetic stock as a shotgun. (The bow is a shot in the dark, the shotgun I've had some experience with and liked it)

Get a shotgun with interchangable barrels. Get a rifled barrel to use for deer, and a 26 or 28" with screw in chokes for birds.

If you have an 870 or Mossberg 500 you could just buy new barrels as they are available most everywhere.

Or just buy a "combo" package of either one and you can hunt most any animal in North America with it.

Only shotgun I've got currently is a Beretta 686 Silver Onyx Sporting. Great gun, but way to heavy to hunt with. The 3901 I was looking at can take the 390 barrels, including a 24" rifled slug barrel.

Go for it. I don't own one, but have shot it quite a bit at retriever training and testing events. It is a very nice gun. I don't think you will be disappointed.

And get a bow too.

I don't bow hunt any more because I now enjoy bird hunting more, and the seasons mostly overlap.

How do your prioritys lay of what you would hope to harvest?

Deer
Turkey