New guy question about floating barrel

So i'm looking over my SR9 and with the action open I notice the barrel moves when you touch it. Why is that? And why is it angled up? Please keep the explanation simple for me I am very new to guns.

Thanks!

The barrel locks up when the slide closes. It only needs to be straight for the small amount of time it takes for the bullet to leave the barrel.

FYI, the term floating barrel has a meaning significantly different than what you have given it. It means a rifle barrel that does not touch any other part of the firearm except the receiver. In other words, it does not contact the stock at any point.

In any case, walk through this animation to see how a typical semi auto pistol works. It shows a Glock, but aside from differences in the trigger and firing pin mechanism, the basic cycle applies to almost all pistols made since about 1900.

http://www.genitron.com/Basics/Glock23/P2Glock.html

Jose is correct in the termonoligy(sp) redress as I d think he knows his stuff, I know some stuff. Freefloated is a rifles barrel that touches the reciever "only". A primitive way to confirm this was taking a NEW dollar bill and running it up and down the length of the barrel even where you think it might be touching it shouldnt be..fwiw

FYI, the term floating barrel has a meaning significantly different than what you have given it. It means a rifle barrel that does not touch any other part of the firearm except the receiver.

Ok Jose, does "moveable" barrel sound better. It's a barrel and it floats (moves). Anyway!

Thanks for the link, it's great!, I am very interested in the workings of guns and appreciate your help.

Ok Jose, does "moveable" barrel sound better. It's a barrel and it floats (moves).

Um, no. It is a Browning style tilting barrel design. Which is explained in the SR9 users manual:

Action: The action of the Ruger SR9 pistol is of the improved striker-fired type