never shot competition before...

Hey guys, I've never shot competitions before but lately I've really been itching to get involved in it. I've been shooting for about 3 years now, mostly pistol with a little rifle...all just target shooting at a nearby range. I've never done any sort of competition shooting or move/shoot type of shooting...just standing there shooting at a piece of paper is only so fun...looking for a bit more of a challenge/fun.

I know literally nothing about getting started. I tried browsing the IDPA website but unfortunately I'm at work for the next 2 weeks (I work on oil rigs in the gulf of mexico) and my company blocks most gun-related websites [angry]

Northeastshooters luckily isnt blocked, but IDPA and just about everything else is so I figured I'd start a thread here and get some info.

Any particular gear needed other than the obvious? Pistol, magazines, good holster/belt, eye/ear protecting of course...anything else I'm missing?

I live in NH so I'd like to keep the matches as local as possible...NH and ME would be ideal. I saw the "2013 Pistol Competition" calendar thats posted here...there are 2 in NH coming up I'll be home for. April 13 at 0800 is an IDPA Classifier @ Epping, NH and the next day, April 14 is IDPA 3 gun or pistol @ Holderness, NH. Are either of these a good opportunity for a brand new guy to get in on it?

Are any particular types of competitions more "beginner friendly"? I know the gun community in general is very welcoming and helpful to newbies, but I dont want to find myself in the middle of a serious competition and not having any idea what Im doing...would like to start slow and go from there.

Any info at all about where to start would be great, thanks!!

If you got a DVD player, you could pick up some of DVD's from Panteao - buy only the one's with Bob Vogel (he is a god)

You can buy here: http://www.panteaoproductions.com/products/bob-vogel-mastering