My new old Mauser M48A-And a question

This is my first time into this territory. Can someone tell me about stripper clips? Will any 48 clip work? What should I be looking for? Thanks

Yes, any 8mm Mauser stripper clip will work, provided the Lyman rear sight does not interfere. The M48A is simply an M48 with a couple of stamped vs. milled parts (trigger guard, magazine follower, and magazine base plate).

I was going to say, it looks in that pic like the Lyman is covering the "slot" for the stripper clip.

There are also 2 different width 8mm strippers IIRC. I bought a set of 10 that I believe must be for the later Yugo versions because they are too wide to fit the guide slot on my byf44 k98. I have a set of '03 Springfield strippers that work well on the k98, although the 8mm rounds fit a little too loosely.

You won't be able to use stripper clips in that rifle because of the rear sight thats been installed.

FWIW, if someone felt the rifle was good enough to go through the trouble of putting a target sight on there, they must have been using better ammo than any surplus that would come on stripper clips. If it were mine I'd either work up some handloads or buy quality ammo and shoot it for accuracy.

Seeing as how it looks like the rear sight is removed, you could always get a scout mount from SK and scope it.

Last edited:
Any specific 8mm ammo other than surplus? I also picked up a 8mm last week not sure what ammo to use after I get all of the comso. out of the barrel (K Kale - 1943)

Thanks.

You won't be able to use stripper clips in that rifle because of the rear sight thats been installed.

FWIW, if someone felt the rifle was good enough to go through the trouble of putting a target sight on there, they must have been using better ammo than any surplus that would come on stripper clips. If it were mine I'd either work up some handloads or buy quality ammo and shoot it for accuracy.