Mounting scope on AR question

Im pretty new to the world of ar15s and was thinking about getting a scope for mine. I have a removable carry handle with the piccatiny rail piece that sits on top of it. Since I have a front iron site post that I dont want to remove I want to make sure the scope will clear it. I originally was going to look into risers and then get scope rings but I found some pictures of ARs with scopes mounted to the top of the carry handle and didnt know if that was ok for all scopes or if they needed to have a certain amount of MOA adjustment inorder for me to zero it in when being mounted that high.
Something like this.
short16.jpg

Or would I be better off just buying a riser
opplanet-ncstar-ar-15-flat-top-riser-mount-standard-weaver-base-marf.png

The scope won't have to sit high up on the rifle to clear the front sight, it should gather enough light to not be bothered with the sight. Having it high enough to be comfortable is another story all together. Still have to figure a good position on my MP15

Last edited:
it doesn't matter if it isn't high enough, you'll never know the front sight post is there at anything over 4x or so.

Get a good mount that lets you move the scope far enough forward that the back of the scope is lined up with the charging handle, this will give you proper eye relief, especially shooting prone. Larue makes a REALLY good but pricey one, and Burris makes a good inexpensive one.

it doesn't matter if it isn't high enough, you'll never know the front sight post is there at anything over 4x or so.

Get a good mount that lets you move the scope far enough forward that the back of the scope is lined up with the charging handle, this will give you proper eye relief, especially shooting prone. Larue makes a REALLY good but pricey one, and Burris makes a good inexpensive one.

Mike hit the spot.

I'm using Burris PEPR as it's inexpensive. I would love to get Larue next.