• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Medical Training

I've picked up shooting on a friends land that is fairly rural for MA. I began thinking that should anything happen we are a good distance from a hospital so I started thinking about picking up a med kit to leave in the truck. When I started looking into med kits I realized I have A) no first aid training and B) don't really know how to use most of the stuff in the kit effectively. Does anyone offer trauma training as it something that I want to learn and feel could be useful. I saw SIG academy does a pistol and trauma class but the dates don't work for me.

i am a physician so i will give you wound 101:

two ways for round to kill you:
#1: hits vital organ (in this case you are SOL)
#2: bleeding until hypovolemic shock (aka "blood loss")

If #1,
hope a friend is present to get you to care

If #2,
-apply firm pressure
-drive to hospital

the single most important tool is a tourniquet.
many lives have been lost because a round hit a peripheral artery and the person bled to death. A round going through your wrist that hits your radial artery coiuld result in fatal blood loss in <2 min. torniquet on the arm can prevent bleeding until they get to full medical care.

torniquet on the arm can prevent bleeding until they get to full medical care.
Doc -

When I was in the pre-reserves (a/k/a boy scouts) the first aid training was "direct pressure only, with emphasis never to use a tourniquet unless a limb was severed. That's obviously not really the case, but I was wondering - how long does it take for tissue damage to set in downstream from a tourniquet once applied?

A round going through your wrist that hits your radial artery coiuld result in fatal blood loss in <2 min. torniquet on the arm can prevent bleeding until they get to full medical care.