Looking for some info on the military.

A few years ago I was very close to joining the Army right out of highschool. For whatever reason I didn't and at times have regretted it. These days I'm told to wait to graduate then enlist as an officer. First off, does a college degree make me an officer?

I'm sure most of my questions can be answered by a recruiter but I find they are often pushy and pursuasive. I'm looking for some unbiased and casual answers.

I'm curious that If i were to join the Army after I graduated college, what do I expect within the next couple of years? What would my general schedule be like?

These days do I have any say in what job I'd like or for the first few years are they going to throw me a rifle and send me out on the field? I've often thought about being a mechanic or something along those lines.

What are the main differences between whether I joined the Army, Marines, or National guard? What could I expect to be different between them?

Thank you for your time, any info or opinions you may have will be appreciated.

Derek.

I cant speak for the Army or the Marines. Having a degree does not guarantee you will be selected for Officer Candidate School. And if you are selected it could take awhile before you actually go to school.

As for a career field, you can tell them what your interested in and if they have an opening in it and your qualified there is a good shot, but it all comes down to the need of the service.

I imagine the Army and National Guard are pretty similar.