lap top info needed

my son is deploying to Iraq in a couple of months.
i would like to get him a lap top computer to take with him.
can anyone recomend a brand and model or any info that would
be helpful???

thanks in advance

blueleader

I've been using a Mac for the past 4 months or so. I have to say that I much prefer it to
Windows (particularly Vista). Not cheap, though.

The Toughbooks are great and stand up to the beating giving in use mounted in patrol vehicles. But they are expensive and usually not available through the normal computer outlets.

If you really want one and need local vendors, contact Panasonic at One Panasonic Way, Secaucus, NJ. They should be able to point you towards a local dealer. However, one of my Patrol Sergeants did two tours in Iraq and brought his laptop which was a normal consumer unit. It survived but it never left his quarters.

We got Alan a Dell laptop to go over. Alan also advises as soon as he gets in country to go to the PX and get a can of dust off and to continuously use it on his laptop. The sand gets everywhere. Alan says if you want PM him. His screen name is CmbtEngineer. He's been back from Iraq now a little over a year now. If he has any questions feel free to PM him.

Storage in a airtight container might help. The Pelican or Underwater Quenetics boxes are airtight and will keep out the sand when sealed.

I know from the description my friend gives, it is closer to talcum powder than the sand we think of on the coast. Might be worth just getting a cheaper one on the assumption it will be toast after the year is up. Circuit City has some decent HP and Toshiba units on sale this week for around $550.00.

I know from the description my friend gives, it is closer to talcum powder than the sand we think of on the coast. Might be worth just getting a cheaper one on the assumption it will be toast after the year is up. Circuit City has some decent HP and Toshiba units on sale this week for around $550.00.