Kidnapping justifies lethal force?

Hey all,

My safety class I took didn't cover many "self-defense" situations.. exactly what I am most interested in [frown] I plan on stopping by Joe's place again to discuss this in more detail...

I see in New Hampshire, the law specifically states kidnapping as justifying lethal force.. how about Massachusetts? If a guy snatches my kid (or someone else's kid), can I legally use lethal force to prevent my kid from being abducted? I could say the kid couldn't retreat and was under an immediate serious threat from the kidnapper... right? (I hope so! I couldn't imagine not shooting someone running away with my kid...)

On the degree of grave injury (or shooting justification), kidnapping my kids is way above having 6-inch of blade buried in my belly. But that's just me.

I'm not a lawyer, but I am POSITIVE that this falls under the "fear of grave bodily harm" clause. Your children are an extension of yourself, as well as "the innocent" which can be protected with lethal force if above mentioned grave injury is imminent. In addition, even the most scummy of prosecutors would have a hard time setting up a jury that would convict you on this.

That said, laws are the last thing on my mind if someone lays hand on one of my girls.

Wouldn't care what the law reads at that point. I would defend my kids to the end, end of story. They can throw whatever they want at me at that point but knowing my kids were safe because of my actions would be worth it to me.

Wouldn't care what the law reads at that point. I would defend my kids to the end, end of story. They can throw whatever they want at me at that point but knowing my kids were safe because of my actions would be worth it to me.

+1 No good parent would give two sh*ts whether or not the law allows for it or not.

I disagree. No good parents would hesitate to do it, no matter whether it's legal or not. Nothing wrong with knowing the law.

I'm confused.....