• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

I want to improve my shooting, looking for input on how to go about it.

SSW

NES Member
I am looking get people’s suggestions on how to go about improving my shooting. So far I have been totally self taught and do ok standing at a range, max distance has been 30 feet. But I really need help to improve and move forward.

After getting a chance to attend some of the shooting events this summer, mostly at HSC, I found that I really enjoy the events and competitions. But I also really need to get some instruction/coaching to get me to a level that I would actually be able to compete with any degree of success.

I do ok standing at the indoor range I mostly go to, but competitionat least for me is a completely different situation. People have told me my firearm/range safety is where it needs to be. My basic techniques just go completely out the window. Consistency is a real issue as a result and target transitioning is a challenge. I’ll do ok on one stage and completely suck on the next.

Some guys have offered to have me come and shoot with them, which I will be doing. But I think I need more than just some extra range time.

Some have recommended joining a team, I don’t know anything about teams and how they work. Would a team want a new competition shooter that needs this much development?

Some say best way to go about this by finding a coach/instructor that I can work with. But who?

I do frequently shoot at different ranges but do not belong to a club. I am on the North Shore so hoping for something inside 495. Harvard is the only club I have shot at and really liked it there.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations people mayhave!!!!

Last edited: