how young is too young

IIRC I was about 10 when I first started shooting my fathers 10/22 ruger. He let me shoot the "big" guns (30.06, 20gauge) when I was around 12. The kick from them kept me from doing it very often. I received my own .410 when I turned 15. It's been downhill from there...[smile]

I was 32 when I started shooting. [laugh]

Sadly, my dad (who owned guns when I was a baby and a toddler, but got rid of them before I ever even knew he had them) never took me shooting. My brother is big into guns, but also never took me shooting before he moved away. Of course, I never asked, either [thinking]

I'll definitely be keeping an eye on this thread, though. Now that daddy's started to go shooting, my 7- and 12-year-old have both expressed interest. Maybe I haven't been doing such a bad job of raising them after all. [wink]

IIRC I was about 10 when I first started shooting my fathers 10/22 ruger. He let me shoot the "big" guns (30.06, 20gauge) when I was around 12. The kick from them kept me from doing it very often. I received my own .410 when I turned 15. It's been downhill from there...[smile]

With my kids it's airsoft / BB guns at about 8, .22 rifles at about 10, and up from there. It really depends on the kid though.

I was 32 when I started shooting. [laugh]

Sadly, my dad (who owned guns when I was a baby and a toddler, but got rid of them before I ever even knew he had them) never took me shooting. My brother is big into guns, but also never took me shooting before he moved away. Of course, I never asked, either [thinking]

I'll definitely be keeping an eye on this thread, though. Now that daddy's started to go shooting, my 7- and 12-year-old have both expressed interest. Maybe I haven't been doing such a bad job of raising them after all. [wink]

At 12 they can get into the .22 leagues. Mystic Valley Gun Club has a great one for 12 year olds.