Help First M.G. Purchase.

Guinness1972

NES Member
I'm completely new to the M.G. world. Just wanted some advice on first purchases.
What would a you all recommend as a solid first purchase as a M.G. I'd like to stay under 10K if possible. I'm looking for something that I can shoot and not worry about breaking it and not being able to get parts. What is the difference between registered bolt vs. receiver vs ? Any pit falls to avoid? Basically any advice would be appreciated..

Take a ride over to Zero Hour Arms and talk with Jim or Marco. They are both very heavily into NFA toys and you can trust their advice. Call first to make sure that both are going to be there on the same day/time and you'll get some good info to chew on.

There is nothing wrong with an UZI, BUT I always recommend buying the most expensive MG you can affaord at the time (cuz everything is only going to get more expensive) In the current market if you have around 10K I'd get an M16, if you are willing to look around you should be able to find RR (registered reciever) conversion guns and RDIAS's (Registered Drop In Auto Sears) for under 10K (in 16's either go RR or RDIAS, avoid the guns that have DIAS's "married" to them) But regardless with 10k to play,I'd go M16 its the LEGO of MG's.

As for what's what? Its pretty much what it sounds like, Register recievers=the gun is the MG, register bolts = the bolt is the MG, Registered sears = the sear are the "guns"

As for what's better, it really depends on the "type" of gun. In the HK family registered sears are "better" than reciever guns because you can move your pack from gun to gun (so 1 sear gets you the option of everything from an MP5-HK21), where as in the uzi family non blocked reciever guns are "better" than bolt guns, because you can switch calibers (which obviously you can't do with a bolt as it is only 1 caliber)