Gun Cleaning

How often does everyone clean their guns after going to the range? I am new to shooting and was cleaning after every trip, but I think that might be a bit much. I shoot about 50-60 rounds of 9mm and about 200-300 rounds of .22.

I was thinking every 2-4 trips would be fine. That seem ok?

what is this cleaning you speak of?

A ruger MK series can go thousands of rounds before needing to be cleaned.

60 rounds? wipe it down and it will be fine.

I definitely do not clean my 22's that often. My match Pardini gets cleaned only 1 or 2 times/year - and I shoot it 1-2/week between Sept-May. A number of the shooters in my league feel that they shoot better a little dirty. Of course not dirty enough to affect function.
My other 22's get cleaned every couple of outings. frequently just run a boresnake through them and swab out the action etc.
My centerfire pistols get cleaned every other outing on average, and my high power rifles get cleaned most outings.

If somebody can invent a easy way to clean revolvers I would be in heaven.

There are some treads like this one around, One was not to long ago "Cleaning Schedule". Maybe you can look some of the answers there.

As Glockaholic asked you. What weapon/s do you want to clean?

Ish.

I thoroughly clean my centerfire guns every time I use them unless I am going to use it again within a day or two.

Rimfires, just a wipedown with an oily cloth around the blued metal.

I just purchased a used shotgun and when I opened it up it looked like it has never been cleaned....ever...Rust and crud all over it looked like it was buried for a few years...I compared it to saving a puppy from an abusive owner. It's not going to be mistreated anymore, I'll nurse it back to health[wink]

To the OP: after every use, or close to it