• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

First time out

Got out to the club for the first time shooting by myself I am total novice at shooting. I have a Mark III and a S&W MP .40. I shot about 10 rounds of the .40 and hit paper with only about half of them. I think it was being a bit nervous and being alone for the first time at the range. I switched over to the Mark III which was the first time I have shot it or any .22 handgun and boy it was a good purchase in my opinion. I was able to forget about the kick and concentrate on the front sight and smooth trigger pull. I shot about 100 rounds out of the Mark III and switch back to the .40 for 15 more shots and I was amazed that 13 were on paper and they were actually somewhat grouped. I had so much fun I was giggling like a little kid. Can't wait to get back there again and put some holes in some paper. Any beginner advice is appreciated.

Beginner advice, there is so much, but two simple pieces that helped me.

1. Time your breathing. Take a few breaths, get on target and as you finish exhaling, squeeze the trigger.

2. Don't take the shot unless you know its a bullseye.

I know that sounds simplistic, but you'd be amazed how many times you'll squeeze the trigger "hoping" it goes where you want it. If the shot doesn't look right, take a break, and lower the gun. Sometimes I will line up a shot and bring it back down several times until it feels right.
Eventually you'll start to develop hand control where you will use the different muscles in your hand to control the gun. You'll be pushing and pulling the gun a lot until you develop this.
The most important thing to learn is habitual safety. Keep the muzzle pointing downrange, finger off the trigger until you are on target, clear your gun and re-check it before you put it away, and be mindful of what is going on around you at the range.