Can I buy a glock from a guy in Rhode island ?

I am a mass resident with a class a ltc .I have a friend in RI that that has a used glock 21 gen 4that he wants to sell.
Can we go to a MA ffl and do the deal that way or is not possible to make that kind of sale.
thanks

Last edited:
No - out of state handgun purchases go between FFLs. RI FFL to MA FFL. Most MA FFLs will not transfer an out of state Glock; definitely will not if it's not pre-98 (except shady FFLs)

ETA: Gen4 - Only a shady FFL

Last edited:
here we go...... ibtl

you can transfer a firearm through an FFL for a sale made out of state. but good luck finding an FFL that will transfer. post 98 glock

No - out of state handgun purchases go between FFLs. RI FFL to MA FFL. Most MA FFLs will not transfer an out of state Glock; definitely will not if it's not pre-98 (except shady FFLs)

The first part of that is wrong. Interstate handgun sales under fed law - the handgun must be transferred to the buyer by an FFL in the buyer's state of residence but no "sender/seller" FFL is required. So the OP's idea to go to a MA FFL would have been possible if it weren't for the second part, which is basically right.

Try Northeast traders as a FFL....

They have been know for shady practices involving interstate ammo sales. Well being a rat at least.

Glock is evil in MA. Buy a 1911 instead if you want a 45acp pistol.

Sent it from iPhone 5 LTE

The first part of that is wrong. Interstate handgun sales under fed law - the handgun must be transferred to the buyer by an FFL in the buyer's state of residence but no "sender/seller" FFL is required. So the OP's idea to go to a MA FFL would have been possible if it weren't for the second part, which is basically right.

Really? So I can mail my gun to a FFL in Colorado and sell it to someone in CO? I was always under the impression if [a handgun] is going across state lines for a sale, a FFL deals with the transfer.