Boston LTC range test requirement question

JackO

Instructor
As most of you know, as part of licensing process, Boston requires applicants to take a range test (Moon Island). Moreover, people who have their LTCs issued by any cities (towns) other than Boston, upon moving to Boston, are required to take the same range test at their renewals.

The only other town that I know of that has this ridiculous and not required by MGL range test as part of application process is Brookline, MA. As a certified firearms instructor, I had many students in Brookline, and I found out that Brookline allows any certified firearms instructor give a range test to the applicant, and the results (target) and a letter from the instructor will suffice to fulfill the requirement of a range test. This way students can avoid going to the police range on Moon Island, and arrange the test at their convenience with a friendly local firearms instructor.

Does anybody know or have any experience if Boston PD allows the similar practice?

As most of you know, as part of licensing process, Boston requires applicants to take a range test (Moon Island). Moreover, people who have their LTCs issued by any cities (towns) other than Boston, upon moving to Boston, are required to take the same range test at their renewals.

The only other town that I know of that has this ridiculous and not required by MGL range test as part of application process is Brookline, MA. As a certified firearms instructor, I had many students in Brookline, and I found out that Brookline allows any certified firearms instructor give a range test to the applicant, and the results (target) and a letter from the instructor will suffice to fulfill the requirement of a range test. This way students can avoid going to the police range on Moon Island, and arrange the test at their convenience with a friendly local firearms instructor.

Does anybody know or have any experience if Boston PD allows the similar practice?