• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR15 Remove pins in collapsible stock ?

I am a New Hampshire resident with a non resident Mass LTC A. I ordered a Rock River AR15 but had it made Mass compliant. I shoot in Mass sometimes and wanted it compliant. I also felt it would be easier to sell that way if I ever wanted to get rid of the gun. It came from the factory with a collapsible stock that has two roll pins installed by them holding it in place.
I read somewhere that the stock had to be fixed and require a tool to adjust it for it to be legal.
So my question is would it be legal to remove the roll pins and use screws to lock the stock?
It would still require a tool (Screwdriver) to change the adjustments.
This way I could keep it adjustable in NH and fix it when going to Mass to keep them happy.

IANAL but I think that would be fine. The laws are so grey in this state that most police officers can't understand them. To me though fixed=fixed, regardless of how.

IANAL but I think that would be fine. The laws are so grey in this state that most police officers can't understand them. To me though fixed=fixed, regardless of how.

Wrong.

A mere screw will not suffice for ban compliance.

Wrong.

What if I were to install allen head bolts and use an allen wrench to remove?

I remember reading the "cant be adjusted with out a tool" somewhere but haven't been able to find it.

Just wondering what I would have to be done to make it legal. I am trying to avoid buying a new stock and switching it over every time I cross the state line.
At this time I am not 100% sure that the stock they use has all the parts inside to make it collapsible anyway. If anyone has done this let me know.
I have seen bushmasters done like this too with the pins so maybe someone else has worked it out.