• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Is the HK USP .45 legal in MA?

Hi, new here. I have been searching around the forum trying to figure this out and I'm leaning towards it not being legal. However the circumstances are also slightly different. My friend who lives in Massachusetts has a USP 45 (not sure of the variant but its just a regular USP) that is stored in a better state, would he be able to sell it to me?

I don't see the USP in 45 on the approved rosters, and it is not a 1998. But I've also seen a few posts on here where it looks like people had sold USP 45s in MA somewhat recently, without specifically stating that its 1998.

Sorry if this is already answered or not a very good question, I'm still learning all of the intricacies for what you can and cannot have here :/

Off roster guns are NOT illegal. They just can’t be sold by a dealer. Has no effect on what you can own/possess.

So yes the USP is legal.
I see, thank you. So if they wanted to sell it to me it would still have to go through an FFL, but would the FFL transfer it if its off roster? Or is that where I run into issues?

I see, thank you. So if they wanted to sell it to me it would still have to go through an FFL, but would the FFL transfer it if its off roster? Or is that where I run into issues?
You can transfer a private one without a FFL
If you want to buy a new one Call a FFL
Try one in the 01460 area

It’s a handgun out of state so you’d have to go through an FFL. Shouldn’t be too hard to find one to do it, but it won’t be Four Seasons.

But try shooting one first if you haven’t. HKs are awesome til you start shooting them. 😂

And an HK45 might be a better way to go anyway, and those are easy to get and cheap since US made. And full cap mags are Mass legal.

You can transfer a private one without a FFL