AR lower receivers - variance in quality between brands?

I have an old Bushmaster XM-15 complete lower that is California 1989 AWB compliant (i.e., A1 stock) purchased back when it was unclear if any kind of AR would be available after the California single-evil ban. It was a panic purchase to get a serial number in on the California assault weapon registration requirement to get a grandfather clause document.

After I get my MA requirements all settled, it'll get relocated with the rest of my collection. At that point I'll have to keep in mind manufacturing and assembly standards for makers of uppers, but what about the parts I already have: ignoring the individual pieces on the quality spectrum for the rest of the parts (stock, recoil spring and buffer, trigger group, bolt release, and pins), how should I consider this Bushmaster receiver on the quality scale compared to other available stripped lowers?

And, within a given product class (cast, forged aluminum, forged steel), are there variances in quality that need to be considered or brands that are better than others when comparing apples to apples on manufacturing techniques?

I've only heard of problems with Olympic.

Yes, there have been some machining issues with Olympic - especially in the mag well. I think a lot has to do with inspection/rejection as well. Some companies, (like Olympic) may have a lower standard of QC where others will inspect lower receivers more vigorously and reject those that do not meet their standards....

Pretty much all lowers are the same. Bushmaster is solid.

Not all of them are the same. Yes they look the same but each has differing specs they want. A place like DPMS is notorious for out of spec lowers. S&W had some lowers that had problems with the mag drop.

There are a ton of great stripped lowers on the market but I would stay away from Olympic and DPMS and a few others.