Ammo shortages and new shooters

M1911

NES Member
I know that some folks have suggested that there must be some conspiracy causing the ammunition shortages. I'd like to give you an alternate theory: there are many new shooters entering the sport and buying guns. Instead of buying a box of ammunition, they're buying a case (if they can find it).

I'll offer as evidence my experience tonight. I've been an officer at the Wayland Rod & Gun Club for 8+ years. In years past, we would typically get between 0 and 2 new applicants at a monthly meeting. Three applicants was a rare event.

Earlier this year, at one meeting we had 8 new applicants. Tonight we had 8 new applicants. In other words, in two monthly meetings we had as many new members join as we would normally have in an entire year.

Last edited:
I agree with you 100% on the abundance of new shooters. I have had 3 of my friends that never owned a firearm recently purchase new guns. And now they come to the range with me every week. I also see more people at the range than I am used to seeing. It's good to see more people buying guns. That means more people to protect the right to keep and bear arms!

Well I'm one of those guys. Best friend went and got his LTC. We kept talking and realized with the Govt going the way it's going it's "get it now or never get it". So I got mine. Between the 2 of us we have bought 8 different pieces in the past 2 months. My wife has her application in, and I am getting my brother to put his paperwork in as well. So in 8 weeks 1 guy has added (or will add) 3 to his one.

Ammo is a bitch to find, so I have my first reloading book and am reading it. After the second book is devoured I'll start reloading. But we ARE the problem. I personally feel my right to own a firearm could possibly be gone in the future so I figured I'd hopefully get "grandfathered" if it happens.