• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Advice needed for AR15 type purchase

I'm going to purchase an AR15 type rifle shortly and would like some input on the various makes and models. What you like, dislike, what manufacturer to stay away from etc. Are the magazines interchangable (Colt fit in a Bushmaster?)

Thanks for your help!

What are you planning using the rifle for?
I have experience with only a few AR's. One was built on a Mega lower with HBAR upper. Another built on Stag lower with RRA upper. Both ran excellent and cranked through any ammo I threw at them, including Wolf.
I have no personal experience with other manufactuers. The one thing I consider stupid is having an AR with a folding stock that is fixed open (because of the AWB). It may add a little to the looks, but is less comfortable than a good fixed stock. Personally, I am partial to VLTOR rifle stocks. I think they give a very nice cheek weld.
An AR magazine, is an AR magazine. I think the only brand to avoid is USA mags. Also, make sure any magazine over 10 rounds was manufactured before 9/13/1994 (ie preban).
That's all I can think of for now.

I like my Colt ARs, and know I'll be getting to like my Bushmaster carbine once it comes back from its trip to JPrifles.com for a trigger job and I get a few rounds downrange.

Depends upon what you want it for. I'm told AR-15s can be quite accurate if configured properly, or they can be a fun little SHTF carbine, or a tricked out black rifle/carbine. If you want fun or SHTF carbine then take a look at the Kel-Tec SU-16. It takes AR-15 mags but has a cleaner gas piston & rod driven action versus direct gas. With a 16" to 18" barrel and plastic body it's not going to compete with an AR-15 built-up for accuracy but it easy a fun and handy carbine that shoots pretty well. You can accessorize it some, but again the AR-15 is a bit more flexible there.