• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Active Military: what do I do if I own guns that aren't mass complient

Good morning, I have a question regarding what I should do about owning guns that are not mass complient. I've been stationed in 29 palms California for the last 3 years, and since I've been here I've bought a few guns that aren't on the compliance list for mass... springfield xd9, stag arms 3tm(ar15). Are they "grandfathered" because I'm a resident just on active duty orders somewhere else or is there something I need to do? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Semper Fidelis

you can own and have the handguns, even if you couldn't buy them here. Just not >10rd mags which are illegal unless made before 1994.

What "evil features" do you have on your AR?

Thank you for your service

If you're talking about handguns that aren't on the EOPS Approved Weapons Rosters (ex. XD9) then you're OK to bring them in, as long as you don't have any post-'94 regular capacity magazines (>10 rounds). Those lists restrict what can be sold by dealers "to protect us consumers", not what can be owned.

Any rifles, shotguns, magazines or handguns that do not conform the the state AWB are verboten to possess in MA. AFAIK there are no considerations for military in the AWB or rosters. I'm sure Len S. will be along to clarify/fix anything I've got wrong.

you can own and have the handguns, even if you couldn't buy them here. Just not >10rd mags which are illegal unless made before 1994.

What "evil features" do you have on your AR?

Thank you for your service

he had the ARs in CA, I'm guessing they are MA compliant as those *******s are worse than M*******s but good idea to double check