A drug testing story

Skysoldier

Forum Curmudgeon
NES Member
This story is for all my Vietnam Veteran brothers....because you will know what I mean.

I was reminded of this story today, because my boss mentioned something about changing insurance carriers, and told me they might require drug testing of all employees.

He asked me if "I would have a problem with it?"

I looked at him and asked, "Why do even think I might have a problem with it?"

"Well.." he said, "I know you are a Vietnam Veteran, and I have heard that a lot of you guy's smoke pot. I was just giving you a heads up."

He really pissed me off with that comment![angry]

I was mad as hell, because here I was being judged again.......just because I was a Vietnam Veteran!

So I told him this story.......

When I got out of the Army in 1973 I had a job interview at a manufacturing company in Indiana.

The guy that offered me the job told me that I would have to take a drug test before he would hire me.

I asked him why...(keep in mind that this 1973, and nobody else required it back then, not even insurance companies)

He told me it was because I was a Vietnam Veteran, and "he just wanted to make sure, because he heard that a lot of us were doing drugs!"

So I took the drug test, and I passed.

He called me back in, and said "I was hired, because I passed the drug test."

I told him to "take his job and shove it up his ass!"

Then he got pissed....he told me "I spent 80 dollars of the companies money for your drug test!"

I just told him, "Good, you spent 80 dollars to find out that not all Vietnam Veterans are drug users....maybe you will learn a lesson from that!

[rofl][rofl][rofl][rofl]

Last edited: