1911s... joining the club.

To all you 1911 owners: I'm thinking of joining the club.

I've owned guns for 17 of my 25 years, but until last summer I never owned a handgun. Last summer I bought a S&W 908. I'm a small guy so the single stack 9mm fits me perfectly. Also, the price was right. Anyways, 2000+ rounds later and with out a ftf or fte, I'm hooked on pistols.

I've been longing for a S&W 1911. I've heard so many raves about 1911s from people who own them. And there's something about they way they look. I've been lusting for one for almost a year now and I think I've about got the scratch to buy one (used).

Here's my question: what should I know about before buying a 1911? What should I look for in a 1911? I love S&W, but I'm open to suggestions about other makers. Pretty much, just hit me with any 1911 info for a guy that wants to get into them.

I know this is open ended, but I'm new to pistols in general, and a total rookie when it comes to 1911s. I'm sure there's tons of info already posted, but there's so much it's hard to wade though it all.

Thanks for any/all posts!

Start with a fullsize, all steel model. I don't have a S&W, but they seem to get good reviews. You may want to get a trigger job, so budget $100 for that. I prefer 7-round Wilson magazines for best reliability. Don't be surprised if you get a few failures to feed in the first couple hundred rounds.

1911s like to be wet, so don't be skimp on the oil. Get a bushing wrench if the gun doesn't come with one.

IMHO, S&W is the best that you will get for the money. Other brands are cheaper but they plain out are just not in the same league. To get something as good in another brand, you will pay much more. S&W has the best product warrantee and service rep of any gun maker, bar none.

Don't waste your time looking for anything else.

The scandium framed models are the bee's knees !