What Cartridge should I get - New to Long range shooting

So another week another question [rolleyes]

My ranger buddy has started to introduce me to long range shooting (falling in love with it). Now my MP 15-22 .22lr has about an effective range of about 200 yards so I'm already starting to max out on precision at higher ranges (not to mention a little bit of windage screws up the .22lr a lot [sad2]).

So I'm in the market for a new gun! (my gf will not be happy about this [thinking])

A few facts that will help whittle down what I'm looking for:
* I'm not a hunter just looking to shoot plates and paper at ranges
*I'd most likely be shooting around 600 yards but would like a riffle that is capable of hitting 1000 - 1100 yards.
* Have the resources to buy a nice scope.
*As I am new to long range shooting I would like something I can practice with and won't break the ammo piggy bank.

This leads me to two cartridges:
1) .308 Winchester - Estimate: .455 BC and max supersonic range of 1100 yards (cheap.... Did I mention how cheap this ammo is)
2) 30-06 Springfield - Estimate: .502 BC and max supersonic range of 1200 yards (this cartridge is more expensive in terms of ammo costs at $1.5 - $2 per shot but will not break the ammo bank and gives a little more oomf under ideal circumstances)

My initial reaction was to go with the .308 Winchester, but looking into it further the Army has the effective range of the .308 to be 800 yards. I think this relates to combat situations and the amount of energy left at 800 yard to immobilize targets.

So in my situation of just shooting paper the .308 should still be accurate at 1000 yards? Just wanted to get others take before I start researching different .308 riffles to buy :).

Last edited:
*I'd most likely be shooting around 600 yards but would like a riffle that is capable of hitting 1000 - 1100 yards.

*As I am new to long range shooting I would like something I can practice with and won't break the ammo piggy bank.