• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Think its time for a Dillon 1050

I have been reloading for 25+ years and have always used Hornady presses. Great presses for the money, but like all things they need consistent attention to run well. I could live with that, but the recent switch to ammo mfg.'s crimping their pistol brass has put me over the edge. It seems any 9mm brass I get, more than half have a crimped primer. My current setup is to clean the brass, de-prime the brass, then run each thru the Dillon Super Swage, clean again, then reload... The process works, but takes foooooorever.....

I can't quite swallow the $1,700+ cost of a 1050, but its the only machine with a built in de-crimper. The aftermarket de-crimpers for the Dillon 650 I have seen all seem to have their issues and really don't solve the problem of not having to handle the brass multiple times.

Dillion prices seem to be fixed no matter where you buy them. I know quite a few people on this forum use 1050's.. Any advice or recommendations on where to pick one up would be appreciated. Is a group buy on these even a possibility?.... Just not sure how to get this expense past the wife.....

I have dreams about a Mark 7.

I don't think you'll find a deal on a 1050. I would either buy direct or through Brian Enos.

I ordered my 1050 direct from Dillon. Couldn't find a good enough deal to go through another seller. Buy with confidence and have no regrets!

Dillon dealers are few and far between, because the markup is only about 15%. It also means that unless you have a dealer buddy who wants to sell to you at cost, there is no real room for movement on the price. Even used, these things command about 80% of the new price.

Buy once, cry once. I bought my 1050 back when it was $1050. Seemed like a lot of money at the time. Glad I spent it.