The Flinch who Stole Christmas

Need some advice...

I seem to be suffering from flinching and/or recoil anticipation. I'm relatively new to this, so be patient with me...

I went to the range today and started out with a little dry fire. I've been doing dry fire exercise at home and have been getting better at holding the sites steady. Clearly still needs work though.

So I went to the range again today. Still shooting consistantly 4" groups 3-4" low at 7yds. I did 40 rounds from bench rest and did much better. 2" groups centered ~1" low.

After 150 rounds, really concentrating on my grip, I was doing a bit better.

After running out of ammo, I went back to dryfiring a bit and was shocked by what I saw. The first few pulls at the trigger the front site involuntarily shot downwards in a way it never normally moves during my dryfiring. It was like I was watching someone else pull the trigger. I had no control over it. My mind was expecting the bang and respondedd accordingly.

Any thoughts on how to improve this?

Thanks,
Matt

iagree.gif

Moderator said:
Try getting some very good earmuffs. Maybe even wear plugs with muffs. This will help the noise.

Wearing plugs with good muffs is what I'm seeing in my search for info about this. A couple of places have also suggested shooting with eyes closed (obviously need a shooting partner for this!).

I just want to make sure I train out of this rather than into it (one of the reasons I'm taking Jim Conway's class coming up). Reducing the bang can only help. Any other ideas are appreciated.

I hope to get to the range again today or tomorrow and I'll give the plugs+muffs a try.

Thanks,
Matt