Teach me about vacuum sealers

I'm fairly new at this. We have a few months worth of the commercially available survival foods, but I see people mention using a vacuum sealer to do staples, either in canning jars or mylar bags, I know nothing about this process except that there's obviously a vacuum involved, What do I need to know? What machines are everybody else using? when I googled the subject, I found everything from 50 dollar Walmart units to 5500 dollar commercial units, Willing to learn

About a year ago, I picked up a Foodsaver V3230 at Walmart. It's been working ok for me so far but it hasn't seen 'heavy' usage either. I have also picked up a couple of accessories for it as well (both the regular and wide mouth canning jar things).
I can't really help much more than that....I'm sure others have thoughts/ideas/opinions on what are the best and worst options as far as sealers go.
Also, I got a lot of ideas on what to do with it from watching youtube videos....there's lots of them on the subject.

I've got a Food Saver that sees infrequent use. The biggest lesson I had to learn was to use the real Food Saver bags or rolls. I cheaped out and bought some other brand and they don't seal well, stuff punctures it, etc. Now I just buy the rolls.

Stuff like rice, pasta, etc. will punch tiny holes in the bags and break the vacuum, so you have to do something like put it in another bag first, then seal it in a vacuum bag. I find those are easier to store in mason jars. I freeze the rice for a couple weeks to kill any bugs or eggs that might be hiding in the rice and then put them on the shelf.

I've tried the ones for mason jars and you need to use two lids (the metal canning lids) to get a good seal. One might just be to take up space to allow for a good seal and then you can remove it, but I don't remember. I don't use that feature often.