Spotting scope deal

PatMcD

NES Member
http://www.hayneedle.com/product/2060x80mmangledspottingscope.cfm

If anybody has been looking for a decent spotting scope but wasn't looking to spend a ton of money, this is a fantastic deal.
A shooting buddy of mine bought one of these and had it at a recent match, set up, side-by-side with his Kowa 821. We couldn't see any significant difference between the two.
I ordered one last Sunday and got it Wednesday (free shipping). I see it's gone up a few dollars since then (I paid $110, now $121).
I have been using the older generation of this scope for 10+ years and it has served me well. I paid $300 back then. I ordered this one because it's too good of a deal to pass up.

Thanks for the tip and feedback

I just ordered 2 of them and the total with shipping was $242...

One will go on a donated scope stand that we loan out to new shooters and the other will go on my shelf for whenever a new shooter needs to buy one.

Thanks Pat. I just ordered one. I've been looking for one for a while, and I trust your recommendation. That's a great deal. +1

Thanks for the heads up!
*Remember to use code: "AHOY" to get the free upgrade from Economy to FedEx Ground.

Any suggestions on a nice tripod?

Thanks for the heads up!
*Remember to use code: "AHOY" to get the free upgrade from Economy to FedEx Ground.

Any suggestions on a nice tripod?
I have had a few nice tripods....heavy duty like surveyors use.....they suck for shooting. Get a pole stand and head. I happen to have the creedmore and it suites my needs. There are others though. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UflycSs96Ko
The scopes with the rotating band are a plus also.