snubby training

Some of you may remember my introductory posting - I am relatively new to shooting and was looking for suggestions on how to begin carrying concealed. Part of my hesitation was my lack of experience in anything other than a controlled range environment shooting at targets about 30' away, with all the time in the world to line up my next shot. Clearly, that experience is of limited value if it comes to defending myself on the street.

Took two classes last weekend focused solely on defensive use of and tactics with a snub nosed revolver. Put on by Michael deBethencourt of Northeastern Tactical Schools, the weekend was 17.5 hours of dynamic shooting, retention, weak handed shooting/loading skills and much more.

My range doesn't allow shooting at short distances, so this was the first time I had a chance to shoot my S&W Airweight 642 at close range - as little as 5'. Live drills included shooting with various sight pictures, reloading with speed strips and speed loaders as well as loose rounds, even shooting in the dark using a flashlight for target illumination. Michael's attention to safety was evident throughout the weekend.

Class attendees ranged from relative newbies such as myself to other certified instructors and one LEO. Throughout the days we were encouraged to ask questions and share our own experiences and techniques. We did a lot of laughing over the two days, but we did quite a bit of learning, too.

If anyone is considering some classes and would like to speak with me live, drop me an email. I'd be happy to share more about these classes.

Last edited:
These were out at the Smith & Wesson ranges in Springfield. Not sure if that's the only place he holds them or not. Several times throughout the weekend he mentioned Harvard, though.

Michael de Bethencourt's web site is www.snubtraining.com. The site has a course schedule.