SKS question

Lucas

NES Member
I'm new to the Military Surplus scene and have a C&R license that needs to be broken in. A SKS is what I've decided to get and I have a question. I'm trying to get an idea of the value and quality of a SKS based on what country it came from. There is a Romanian SKS with matching numbers in very good to excellent condition from 1958-59 @ $350.00 that I can purchase. It seems high, but I've noticed the prices have climbed steeply since the election. Is a Romanian SKS worth purchasing or should I hold out for another country or a different year of manufacture ? I could use some advice.

M4M should be along shortly.

I bought a Yugo SKS with my C&R and it's been great. Lots of cleaning was in order when it first arrived. Make sure your firing pin channel is clean and free.

Last edited:
M4M should be along shortly.

I bought a Yugo SKS with my C&R and it's been great. Lots of cleaning was in order when it first arrived. Make sure you firing pin channel is clean and free.

Yep M4M will chime in as the resident expert on these. +1 on the Yugo. It was my first semi auto rifle and I spent a good amount of time cleaning it up and getting all the cosmo off of it. Great rifle. Not sure, but I think the Yugos are going for around $200-$250.

I paid about $180 something shipped from blahblahblah. (sorry, no naming distributors). It was advertised as "very good" condition, but I'd say it's closer to excellant. Plenty of little dings in the stock, and some minor pitting on the underside and face of the bolt, that's about it.

It seems like the price of Yugo's are climbing too. A look at some of the places I can use my C&R at have prices $250.00 and up, but they don't have any in stock. Even the auction sites are around that price for anything with matching numbers and a decent stock. That's why I'm wondering if a Romanian built model is worth another $75.00-$100.00 more.