Sighting a rifle

I'm pretty new to shooting, and especially to rifle shooting. I just bought a Remington 700 in .308 with a bipod and a scope on it. I also am going to join Braintree R&P this Sunday.

I was wondering if someone (ideally a member at BRP) could help me sight the rifle. I took it to a 25 yard indoor range today and I was grouping decently, but significantly low and to the left. I couldn't get the group to move much by adjusting the scope, so my thought is that the scope isn't mounted properly (it came mounted on the rifle).

If anyone either has some tips to communicate here, or would like to meet at BRP or elsewhere for a shooting session, I'd appreciate it.

I'm also not sure if there was a better place for me to post this. If so, maybe a moderator can move it?

If the scope adjustments are 1/4 MOA per click, at 25yds that's going to take 16 clicks to move your POI one inch. Get the L/R right at 25yds and get it more or less centered after that, then re-sight at 50 to make sure you're OK (but only change L/R), then sight at 100 for L/R and vertical (assuming you want a 100yd zero). At 100yds one MOA is (more or less) one inch.

It seems to be an aftermarket scope. I bought the rifle used, and the scope doesn't have much in the way of markings. It does say that one click is 1/8" (I'm assuming at 100 yards). I'll check it out again - I may not have turned it enough, considering that I was only at 25 yards.

You can save a lot of ammo if you have a decent rifle rest.

Put a small target dot at 25 yards. Remove the bolt from the rifle, put the rifle in the rest, point it at the target, and look through the barrel. Adjust the position of the rifle/rest until you can see the dot more or less centered in the bore.

Without touching the rifle, look through the scope and see where it's aiming. Adjust the scope until the cross hairs are centered on the dot L-to-R, and near the top of the dot on the vertical.

This will get you in the ballpark.