Rod & Gun Club question

I am new to hunting and am looking into local Rod & Gun clubs north of Boston. Are some better than others? What are some things I should consider before joining?

Well, what are you looking for? I'm definitely taking my time finding a "home" but that's because I want some specific stuff. Have you decided what you want from a place?

Rifle range beyond x yrds
Archery Range
Skeet/ Trap
Indoor pistol
Indoor Rifle
etc.

Get those things figure out, then shop based on location, and such.

I guess I would echo davemata advice. I would find a club that has a strong group of people that are involved in whatever you are interested in. If you are interested in skeet/trap, then make sure the club has that. If it is pistol, see if they belong to a league or have organized shoots.
If the club that might be most convenient to you doesn't have what you are interested in, then I would try to get a sense of how enthusiastic the club president would be about expanding the club to allow you to start an new group in whatever you are interested in

If you're new to the sport, try to find a more "general" club - if you don't have a strong interest a plase that "has some of everything" might serve you best. I've had pistol shooters turn into Trap lovers, to their surprise....

Try everythign: Not all will be a "fit" ( I shoot Trap, I'm terrible at Skeet, for instance), but you never know until you try.

I'm looking into the clubs that have the most options at this point. I'm taking my Hunters Ed. course at one here around Lowell, so we'll see if that's a place I might want to join.

If you're new to the sport, try to find a more "general" club - if you don't have a strong interest a plase that "has some of everything" might serve you best. I've had pistol shooters turn into Trap lovers, to their surprise....

Try everythign: Not all will be a "fit" ( I shoot Trap, I'm terrible at Skeet, for instance), but you never know until you try.