RH/LE dominance and long guns

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to NES and new to firearms; in fact, I'm still waiting for my interview. Being new to firearms I have some questions I'm hoping people can answer for me.

I am right-handed, but I'm left eye dominant. I have a congenital vision problem with my right eye and thus primarily use my left eye for all of my vision. It occurred to me today while I was checking out my brother's new shotgun that I don't think I'm going to be able to shoot long guns right handed because of my vision problems in my right eye.

I was curious if anyone else has a similar issue and if they shoot rifles/shotguns left-handed even though they are right-handed? Or is there some other solution I'm not seeing (pun intended).

Also, and this speaks to my inexperience with firearms, but are rifles/shotguns designed for a particular hand dominance, or are they ambidextrous? I'm guessing it might depend on the firearm, but I haven't spent enough time around them to know (yet).

I am also right handed/left eye dominant. For pistols it's not an issue and i've found rifle are fine if they have iron sights (close left eye) or if they have red-dot sights. Only time i've had an issue is with an ACOG which is designed to be used with both eyes open. It was fine if I closed my left eye but my POI was off with both open. I learned around it but if you have issues with your right eye i'd recommend learning to shoot rifle lefty. I know others who have the same problems as me and that was their solution (pistols righty, long guns lefty).

Oddly enough though when I use my PVS-14 helmet mounted it has to be over my dominant eye which isn't recommended. Over my non-dominant eye I just trip over stuff. Guess i'm a little screwed up in the head :)

Best of luck!

Pistols, I shoot with my right hand but with my left eye.