Reviews of Ruger P85 (9mm)

dukefan70

NES Member
Found a barely to gently used pre-'98 Ruger P85 (9mm) for $300. Fits my wishes for an economical 9mm single/double action first handgun. Reviews and opinions from those with experience with this gun would be much appreciated.

great gun for what it is. not pretty, nothing special, pretty crude... but built like a tank, and will always go bang.

I have no personal experience with the gun but there are articles to be read out there, case in point:​

p85+ls.jpg

Ruger's P-Series: what's wrong with Ruger's P-Series semiauto pistols? Not a darn thing, says the author.

Guns Magazine, Jan, 2004 by Glenn Barnes

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0BQY/is_1_50/ai_110470559/

I had a P90 (the P85's big brother in .45ACP). Other than a pretty gritty trigger, there was NOTHING wrong with it. It was the ugliest gun I've ever seen, but it always went BANG. I only sold it because it was turning into a safe queen, and I wanted the money for something else... and I had two other .45s.

Carry it with confidence; it may not win any beauty contests but it won't fail you, either.

Great gun, I also have a P85. Is there a stamp on the left Decocker/ safety that says "MKII" ? If not I would call Ruger, There was a recall on those models and they will update it for free.

Good luck on your new tank!

I own the P90. dwarven1 got rid of his, but I've kept mine because it is sooooo reliable. Eats any .45 acp ammo without a hiccup and it's built like a hammer.

I'd go for another if I was in the market.

great gun for what it is. not pretty, nothing special, pretty crude... but built like a tank, and will always go bang.

I agree. I had one many years ago. I bought it for short money and sold it for even less. Heavy, Ugly, Awkward, Crude, Lousy Trigger, but never failed to go bang every time. IIRC, the accuaracy wasn't too bad either, but this will never be a collector piece.